The club was founded in 1885, one year after the founding of the GAA. The club won its first ever Tipperary senior football championship title in 1890 and had to wait thirteen years before winning again in 1903 when the team won the title five years in a row in 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906 and 1907. The team was beaten the following year and the title was won by Cloneen but returned again in 1909 to take the title once more beating Clonmel Emmets in the final. It was another twenty two years before the team would win the title again in 1931.